10 small steps to teach you to understand the GIA certificate of cultivated diamonds

Lab-grown diamonds are called lab-grown diamonds, which means diamonds grown in a laboratory. At present, two common production methods are usually used in the entire lab-grown diamond market: HTHP (high temperature and high pressure) and CVD (chemical vapor deposition). ), although cultivated in the laboratory, the principle is the same as that of natural diamonds. In order to prove that cultivated diamonds are real diamonds, the authoritative testing institutions of GIA Gemological Institute of America and IGI International Gemological Institute not only provide natural diamond certificates, but Hydray cultivated diamonds can also enjoy identification services, giving consumers a little more assurance. However, many consumers said that they would not look at the GIA and IGI certificates. The following is a detailed analysis of them.

GIA Report for Grown Diamonds:

GIA Gemological Institute of America was founded in 1931. GIA majors provide courses such as research, sales, and identification. The 4C standard proposed by GIA is a general standard in the international jewelry industry. GIA lab-grown diamond and natural diamond certificates are the same, provide 4c description, and the lettering on the waist is engraved with the words "LABORATORY GROWN" in addition to the certificate number.

1: Identify the content. Lab-grown diamonds.

2: Specifications. (Measurements) Specifications: minimum diameter * maximum diameter * height.

3: Weight. (Carat Weight). Diamonds are measured in carats, 1 carat = 0.2 grams. The heavier the diamond, the rarer it is.

4: Color grade. The colors of cultivated diamonds are (DEF) colorless, (G-L) close to colorless, (M, N) light yellow.

5: Clarity grade. Use a 10x magnifying glass to observe the interior and exterior of the diamond, and divide the clarity into 6 grades, namely (FL) Flawless / (IF) Internally Flawless, (VVS) Very Slightly Flawed, (VS) Slightly Flawed, ( SI) small flaws, (P) major flaws.

6: Cut. The cut includes three aspects: cutting, polishing, and symmetry. Divided into 6 grades, namely (ID) very perfect (EX) perfect, (VG) very good, (G) good, (FR) poor, (PR) very poor. Lab-grown diamonds have the same cut as natural diamonds.

7: The shape of the diamond. Such as Grading Report (circle).

8: Fluorescence. Lab-grown diamonds are non-fluorescent.

9: The newly added inscription, the laser engraving on the waist will be engraved with the words "LABORATORY GROWN" in addition to the certificate number.

10: The last column of the GIA report states that the diamond is a lab-grown diamond.

Grown Diamond IGI Certificate:

IGI International Testing Institute was established in Antwerp, Belgium, the world diamond center in 1975, and has become the world's largest jewelry identification laboratory. There are 12 laboratories in many diamond trading centers around the world. Antwerp, New York, Toronto, Dubai, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Tel Aviv, Los Angeles, Mumbai.

The information of the IGI cultivated diamond certificate is the same as that of the natural diamond certificate. The content of the certificate of the IGI international testing agency and the description of the GIA certificate is basically the same, mainly including identification content, color grade, clarity grade, and cut. In addition to the certificate number, the lab-grown diamonds are laser engraved on the waist with the "lab grown" logo.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.